[Alice]

HelpOnPageDeletion

The following 102 words could not be found in the dictionary of 635 words (including 635 LocalSpellingWords) and are highlighted below:

action   Administration   allow   allowed   almost   an   and   Asked   at   attachments   back   backup   backups   but   by   Can   can   case   clicking   completely   Configuration   Contents   creation   Delete   delete   deleted   deleting   Deletion   dialog   empty   enabled   enter   entry   Especially   etc   existence   file   files   for   found   Frequently   from   get   Go   Help   history   host   How   if   If   in   inbetween   including   into   like   ll   Ls   make   means   mechanisms   Miscellaneous   name   Name   no   Note   of   old   older   only   out   page   Page   purged   Questions   restore   reveal   saving   shell   simply   standard   stuff   system   that   then   This   this   to   To   unless   unrevertably   using   usual   version   via   was   way   What   which   whole   will   with   you  

Clear message

HelpContents > HelpOnAdministration > HelpOnPageDeletion

How to delete pages

If enabled (see HelpOnConfiguration and HelpMiscellaneous/FrequentlyAskedQuestions) and allow by ACLs, you can delete pages with the DeletePage action. Note that deleting means to make a backup copy of the page, and then deleting the page file. This is almost like saving an empty page (which is not allowed by the system).

What this means is that you can get back at deleted pages by using the standard mechanisms, see also the HelpMiscellaneous/FrequentlyAskedQuestions entry "Can I restore a page from an older version?" for this. Especially, if you enter the page name into the GoTo dialog, you'll see the usual page creation stuff, but clicking on PageInfo will reveal the old version history, unless the page was purged out of existence inbetween.

(!) The only way to unrevertably and completely delete a page (including backups, history, attachments, etc.) is via the shell on the host system. The page files are found in the "data/pages/<PageName>" directory, and you can simply delete the whole <PageName> directory - no way back in that case.